Uncategorized

Million Dollar Man

_
–>

Image

 

A famous client that I represented wanted me to land a synchronization deal for his new group.  The client expressed his concerns about sales from his new album of six months.  He told me that the owner of his record label has not yet recouped the production cost of the album. He went on to tell me they had a distribution deal with a major label and seemed to be very happy with the deal.

I asked him if the label was helping him market the album or promote it in anyway.  I asked him the details of the deal with the major label, instructing me to contact the label’s owner.  I gave him a call the next day, asking him the same question.  Again, he could not answer the questions.  I asked the owner if he is happy with the major labels distribution plan.  He said why yes, any artist would kill to be on their label.

At this point I did some thinking and asked myself what did this major label really do for my client in the six months that his group’s album had been out.  I took the matters into my own hands and reached out to a super impendent label.  They explained in detail their distribution plan that they could setup for my client. The staff member from the label told me they would help market the album, work the publishing of the group, and even help with touring.

I called the label’s owner and told him about this great super impendent powerhouse of a label. He then got very angry with me and told me that he would never leave the major label. I expressed the value and that he was just a number on the major label and asked what they did for him the six months that the album was out.  He gave no reply and told me he had to go.

Lesson to learn: Sometimes bigger isn’t always better; sometimes a smaller label can give you more attention, support, and advice.

 

Image

 

